30 Days Of Me…… A Bad Habit Of Mine

bad habits

Forty years ago my dad promised me $10 if I could break this habit.  He still has his money.

     I have had this habit as long as I could remember.  Most people outgrow it or overcome it.  Not me!  I have embraced it!  Literally.  What’s the habit?

I am a member exclusive card carrying nail biter.

Yes, I know it is dirty.  Yes, I know it could hurt my teeth.  I have heard it all!  My family even threatened to put cow manure on it.

Ewww!

They tried using all kinds of stuff.  Nothing worked.  In hindsight I think it was a control thing.  I didn’t feel like I had a lot of control over things, so I bit my nails ’cause I could control that.

I thinkyou've been watching too many

My father sat me down once and promised me a dollar per finger.  I sat down and did a cost analysis…. subtracted a few things….. added other things…… took rising inflation into consideration…..

Deal

My dad got to keep some of his hard-earned money and I got to keep my habit.

The only time those nails grew was when I had carpal tunnel surgery….. but that didn’t last long.

So as I approach the big 5-0, I am still sporting my petite fingernails!  Hey, I may as well give them a fashionable name!  You see, since it has been so many years, I now chew them without even thinking about it.  Some may call it multitasking……

Anyway, that is the long and the short of it….. well, mostly the short.  My bad habit out there for the entire universe to read.  Who knows, maybe I will be some alien’s 6th grade science fair project!

The Bad Habits Of Human Beings

Leave a Reply

