Hope Renewed … 22 Songs to add to Your Playlist when you need Hope

I had mentioned Spiritual Pathways before and mine is music.  Lately, as I have been dealing with depression, I have been using this pathway to have God lead me back to His fellowship.  Music has always been important to me.  In fact,  I had done a series for awhile called “Serenade The Son“.  I want to share my Playlist of Hope with my readers.

The first song on my list is actually a call to action.  It lets me know that when the devil tries to steal my joy, I can fight back with the song, “Shackles”, by Mandisa. I want to warn you now!  Mandisa plays a large role in my Hope Renewed playlist.

In Shackles, a verse that stood out to me was…

Shackles

This song reminds me of the passage in Acts 16 where Paul and Silas were in prison, in stocks.  They were praising God through music when God sent an earthquake that freed them from their Shackles.

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Matt Redman sings a song called “Never Once” that brings me to tears every time I hear the chorus.

NeverOnce

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

“How You Live” by Point Of Grace – I Love this song!

How You Lived
I first heard this song during my cancer when my church choir gave me a C.D. to cheer me up and this song was on it.  It just meant a lot to me.  It’s message?  Live in the moment.  Don’t worry about tomorrow.  Take stock in what is really important!
Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.  Matthew 6:31-34

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

It was a normal weekday in November 2008 and I had just walked out of a post-op doctor’s appointment with my gynecologist.  I recently had a total hysterectomy including removing a grapefruit-sized tumor.  During this appointment she had announced that this was not a benign tumor as previously thought.  It was malignant.  As my husband and I got in our car to drive away, we were both in a state of shock.  Then Norm turned on the radio and immediately “Bring The Rain” by MercyMe filled the car causing me to burst into tears.  It is a song that illustrates how we can see God through the rain in our lives.

BringTheRain (1)

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Mandisa has another song I love that has been playing in my mind a lot lately: “Stronger”

Stronger

Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance;  perseverance, character; and character, hope.  And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.  Romans 5:3-5

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

What Faith Can Do” by Kutless is a song I found more recently. ThatsWhatFaithCanDo

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. Hebrews 11:1

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

You Never Let Go” by Matt Redman

You never let go
I will lead the blind by ways they have not known,
    along unfamiliar paths I will guide them;
I will turn the darkness into light before them
    and make the rough places smooth.
These are the things I will do;
    I will never let them go alone.
Isaiah 42:16

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

All To Him by New Life Worship

 Alltohim (1)

“For the mountains may be removed and the hills may shake, But My loving-kindness will not be removed from you, And My covenant of peace will not be shaken,” Says the LORD who has compassion on you.   Isaiah 54:10

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

One Thing Remains by Passion

one-thing-remains

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.  Romans 8:38-39

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Jesus Take The Wheel by Carrie Underwood

I know what you are thinking!  A Praise song?  Of course it is!  No one has ever accused me of not being well rounded and I am not just talking about my weight.  I have been a fan  of Carrie Underwood since her time on American Idol.  As you will see, she does Praise quite well!

JesusTakeTheWheel

Cast your burden upon the LORD and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.  Psalm 55:22

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Praise You In This Storm by Casting Crowns

I had actually did a post on this song before but this was one song that became important through my cancer.

Storm (1)

In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  1 Peter 1:6

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Mighty To Save by Hillsong

I had actually blogged about this song in my Serenade The Son Series.  It was a staple on my cancer playlist.

MightyToSave (1)

He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”  Matthew 17:20

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Healer by Kari Jobe

healer

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned, and flame will not scorch you.  Isaiah 43:2

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Oceans by Hillsong

Oceans

 “The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them; He delivers them from all their troubles.” – Psalm 34:17, NIV

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

All Who Are Thirsty by Kutless

All who are thirsty

The one on the throne said to me, “It is finished! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. I will give free water from the spring of the water of life to anyone who is thirsty.  Revelation 21:6

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Live Like You’re Loved by Hawk Nelson

LiveLikeYoureLoved

God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  Romans 5:8

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Never Going To Steal My Joy by Mandisa

One issue with depression?  The depressed person has allowed someone to steal their joy.  Often these people live at the words of an emotional abuser and, after awhile, it is hard to keep a tight grasp on one’s joy.

NeverGoingToStealMyJoy

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” John 10:10

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Strong Enough by Matthew West

StrongEnough

“The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to tread on the heights” (Hab. 3:19)

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

It is Well by Kristene DiMarco

ItIsWellKD

     After Jesus left in a boat with his disciples, a terrible storm suddenly struck the lake, and waves started splashing into their boat.Jesus was sound asleep, so the disciples went over to him and woke him up. They said, “Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!”
     But Jesus replied, “Why are you so afraid? You surely don’t have much faith.” Then he got up and ordered the wind and the waves to calm down. And everything was calm.
     The men in the boat were amazed and said, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him.”  Matthew 8:23-27

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Only The World by Mandisa

OnlyTheWorld

 I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Drops In The Ocean by Hawk Nelson

DropsInTheOcean

 In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.  Romans 8:37-39

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

Overcomer by Mandisa

overcomer

Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.  James 1:12

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫

     I hope you have been as blessed with these songs as I have been.  What are songs that have helped to lift your spirits or let you know God still cares? 

Leave a Reply

