When God Used an Apathetic, Bossy, Arrogant Cat

WhenGod usesHoriz

Our cat, Tyson, is the typical Alpha male cat who thinks, if he isn’t God, he is certainly God’s right hand man.( or cat)

The only time he is in somewhat of a cuddly mood is when he wants food and he will not hesitate to glare and shun if he thinks he is getting the short end of the stick.  He rarely wants to be held.  Affection is something he rarely exhibited.  He felt it would destroy his image.  He will sleep with my daughter but will only crawl in bed after she falls asleep.  When he wants breakfast, he wants it five minutes ago and will yell until he gets it.

98Bales

This morning he was sitting close by staring me down as I had yet to feed him breakfast.  I was sitting on the lounge chair having a minor crisis.  Depression had been rearing it’s ugly head again and I was sitting there feeling very much alone. Tears were streaming down my face and I was silently crying out to God about how alone I felt.

12178605035_786bf7b47f_b

Suddenly, in an extremely uncharacteristic move, Tyson jumped up on my chair and started to nuzzle me.  As I was sitting there realizing the implications, he went one step further and started licking my hand.  He had not done that since he was a kitten.  Immediately I knew this was more than coincidence.  God was using my cat,  who would rather get a bath than show any emotion, to get across a message.

11204945_1589569027976008_8086035976717413813_n

He was using my cat to tell me I certainly was not alone.
That He was there all the time.

My grandmother had a favorite song that still rings true today.  It was called “Does Jesus Care?”

1 Does Jesus care when my heart is pained
Too deeply for mirth or song,
As the burdens press, and the cares distress,
And the way grows weary and long?

Refrain:
Oh, yes, He cares, I know He cares,
His heart is touched with my grief;
When the days are weary, the long nights dreary,
I know my Savior cares.

2 Does Jesus care when my way is dark
With a nameless dread and fear?
As the daylight fades into deep night shades,
Does He care enough to be near? [Refrain]

3 Does Jesus care when I’ve tried and failed
To resist some temptation strong;
When for my deep grief there is no relief,
Though my tears flow all the night long? [Refrain]

4 Does Jesus care when I’ve said “goodbye”
To the dearest on earth to me,
And my sad heart aches till it nearly breaks—
Is it aught to Him? Does He see? [Refrain]

cross-1448946_1920

I went to work with the memory of God’s proof of love exhibited through my cat and that song in my heart which was feeling a lot lighter but fuller.

Leave a Reply

