10 Things You Could Learn About Affection From A Dog

FBAffection

I love my dog and he is quick to return the love. It occurred to me one day that there is a lot you could learn from a dog about affection.

KidsNCoby2When my son was in kindergarten he wrote tons of journal entries about wanting a dog. He promised to love it and feed it and take it out and clean up after it.  Unfortunately, during the flood of 2011, we lost this valuable piece of evidence promising to care for the dog which my son, now 17, never fails to remind me.  I told him that we may not have hard evidence but I have his teacher for a witness.  The decision to name him Coby was a collaboration of a couple ideas for names.  The little puppy grew up and matured under his care.  He was extremely protective even at a young age.  I still remember the night he would not allow me to get off my lounge chair and stood growling between me and the shifty looking character in the reflection of the television.  I remember vacillating between being proud of him and laughing really hard.

DeniseCoby21308     When I had my cancer he was my constant companion when I was not in the hospital, rarely leaving my side.  He definitely became a Momma’s boy but it was comforting to know he was there.   He was my constant source of love and affection.

     What’s nice about dogs is they will keep pouring on the love and they require little in return and Coby was certainly no exception.

Yet the affection a woman craves seems to be lost on the male species of her kind.  All one has to do it look at the dog to know what a woman truly needs.

.

.

CObySnuggling1Scratch me behind the ears.

Not only does this basic token of affection feel good to the dog, but bringing them comfort is a joy in itself.By hitting that one special place because the dog likes it indicates that you know the dog enough to know what the dog likes.  A woman may appreciate it, depending on her love language, when you walk by and just touch her shoulder.

.

.

IMG_6576Feed me!  

His basic needs are being taken care of.  He can trust you because you care about him. You taking care of his simple needs.  He requires nothing else from you.

.

.

.

.

CobyNorm1Talk to me!  I’m a great listener.

They want you to talk  to them because they will listen without criticism or rebuttal.  They won’t make you feel like an idiot for what you have to say and they are delighted that you care enough to talk to them.  They will be your devotedly heed your words and they won’t gossip what you say to others.

.

.
2015-03-07 16.20.39.

I am your companion even if you just need someone to sit with you in silence and not say a word.

He knows no words are needed sometimes because just being there for you in person is often enough as you try to work things out in your head.  You want a companion who is willing to just sit with you and not demand conversation.

.

.

Sometimes all that is required is a hug…2016-03-27 11.04.44

whether you are giving him one or accepting one from him.  It is the basic need of touch and it has no strings attached.  It means you care and he care s enough to give you this when you are sad or upset.

.

.

CobyDen

When you are sick, I will be there for you…

Dogs know when you aren’t feeling well whether it be physically or emotionally.  They know that just being there is what is important.

..

.

..

.

.

.

TyCobyI like to be included in your leisure time.

Whether it be enjoying a book or just playing. He enjoys spending time with you doing what you love.

 

1935049_1226086215647_2093116_nSometimes a quick simple kiss is necessary

 

Nothing elaborate … just something to show he cares

 

.

.

TylerKissingCoby

Just being with you is all the loving I need

IMG_5154And sometimes a hot dog!

Yes, definitely a hot dog!

..

.

 

 

.

Or popcorn!

dogesp

And that, my friends, is how a dog does affection!

IMG_1255

And, by the way, it is Coby’s birthday today!

Happy birthday, Coby!

7.19.2005 (1)

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”

    -Josh Billings

 

One thought on “10 Things You Could Learn About Affection From A Dog

  1. I like to believe God created dogs for companionship; they give so much love and are the perfect listener. Thanks for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    Like

Leave a Reply

