It Took You HOW Long To Write That Post?

HOW long Google+

To the non-writer, it is hard to understand why it takes so long to write a blog post – especially one’s family but I am here to bear witness that it is a lot longer process than slapping a couple of words on a page.

     A blogger not only has to write an interesting piece but he or she is also responsible for the graphics and promotion of his or her post.

Sometimes the hardest part may be coming up with an idea.  Most bloggers actually keep a calendar or a planner with their ideas written down.  When I can come up with a good idea, it is usually when I am in the middle of something else and then the trick is finding a pencil and paper to record that idea because, chances are, if I do not write it down, I won’t remember it later!

paper-606649_960_720

I once came up with an idea and I was having a hard time finding a way to write it down and not have to worry about losing it.  I didn’t have a piece of paper so I made do with what I had.  I wrote it on masking tape and stuck it to the back of my phone.  I think my family thought I had lost it for a time as they each asked me what this was on the back of my phone.  Sticking things in my pockets was not always the answer- especially when I forgot it was there and threw my pants in the laundry, so the phone was a very viable option.

The day the rain stopped

It also takes time to come up with the right images and sometimes that takes up to several hours, especially when I am doing my Serenade The Son Sunday Series.  I have a couple of my go-to sites that I frequent.

TimeHoriz

The main graphic is usually the theme of the post and I have to find something that will work both vertically and horizontally because when I share it to social media, each type of social media has its own size limitations. I have created my own cheat sheet for such occasions, however when I use Canva, which I recently discovered and L-O-V-E, it does not necessarily have all the sizes I need.

SocialMediaImages

When I find the image that represents my post, I head over to Canva to create my Social Media graphics.

I used to create my graphics on Paint Shop but decided to try Canva and I love it!

After I gather all my necessary media I put it all together too create a post such as the one you are reading now.

Then I go around to various social media to share my post.

In all, it can take anywhere from a couple of hours to a couple of days depending on the time I have to work on it.

If you have a blog, how long does it take you to put a blog post together?

Leave a Reply

