Saturday Savings … Saving Money With Bagged Lunches

SaturdaySavingsGoogle

Who doesn’t like to save money?

Let’s face it.  Taking a lunch to work or school can be expensive but I want to share one way I have learned to save a few dollars.

Catmoney

They say buying in bulk saves money.  This also works when it comes to buying food for packed lunches.  When I go for groceries I often shop at dent can outlets or dollar stores.  My husband was hesitant at first, but now loves the fact that he can grab and go.

I would often price these at the grocery store and they were $3.50 to well over $4.00 a box which put each pack at least 60-75 cents a piece.

TeddyGrahamsIndiv

I bought the big box of teddy grahams at the Dollar Store for $2.00 and got 9 servings from it at 22 cents a serving.

teddyGrahamsBigBox

That is about 1/3 of what you would pay at a grocery store for individual bags!

It may not seem like much to some of you but to those of us on a very strict budget, that savings is huge.

You may wonder how many Teddy Grahams or whatever you are bagging is in a serving.  All you have to do is look at the top of the Nutrition Facts usually found on the side of the box.

IMG_6594     IMG_6595

It not only says how many of each other are in a box but also how many servings you will get from the box.

I also buy snack size bags from these same places or using a grocery store brand to save on that.

ZIPPERBAGS

This is just one small way I can make a dent on my grocery budget as I could spend a great deal on lunch items.

What is one way you save on your grocery budget?

 

Leave a Reply

