Writing Wednesday … I Cried

I wrote this song in 2012 when my daughter was graduating from high school.

IMG_0944

I Cried

Verse 1:
Nine months of carrying you inside of me
Postpartum_baby2Pushing for hours to set you free
Cradling you gently inside my arms
One hour old and you had me charmed
Incredible joy filled me inside
And I lay in my hospital bed
And I cried

Chorus:
And I cried
Swelled up with pride
So deep in my soul that it tore me up inside
And I cried

Verse 2:
2801209277_f7cff0df35Fast forward to your first day of school
Your preschool years were so short – yet so full
You pause and hug me at the front door
I just want you to stay and hug me some more
I felt I was breaking up all inside
And I went home to your bed
And I cried

Chorus:
And I cried
Swelled up with pride
So deep in my soul that it tore me up inside
And I cried

Verse 3:
26979836362_84f06443e0You’re graduating from high school tonight
Your years going to school seemed to take flight
Your face lights up as you walk down the aisle
You’ll be off to college in a very short while
Pride and sadness mixed up inside
And I went home to your bed
And I cried

Chorus:
And I cried
Swelled up with pride
So deep in my soul that it tore me up inside
And I cried

Verse 4:
wedding-559422_1280A beautiful day as wedding bells sing
I watch as you give another a ring
A smile on my face as you recite your vows
As flood waters of tears threaten to spill out
Joy and sorrow jumbled inside
And I went home to your bed
And I cried

Bridge:
Gone were the days you would hold my hand
Time slipping by like drifting sand
Years of protecting you from all harm
I just want to hold you inside my arms

Chorus:
And I cried
Swelled up with pride
So deep in my soul that it tore me up inside
And I cried

girl-690327_1280

(c) Denise L. Deck 2012. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday … I Cried

Leave a Reply

