52 Weeks Of Gratitude … Lessons Learned

52lessonLearnedGoogleOne of the lessons I learned was about being judgmental.
It was a lesson I had to learn the hard way.

The whole source of contention?

HarryPotter

Now, granted, Harry Potter is still probably not the type of book I would enjoy but I should not have even questioned my friends’ faith based on this book series.

I think what bothered me the most was the extent that they would go to get in to the book
but, in questioning their book choices I was basically being a “Christian Snob”.

Purple_Sunbird-_Getting_Non-breeding_plumage_&_see_the_pollens_stuck_up_on_the_feathers-_I_IMG_0057 (1)

As God began to convict me I realized that I was just as “guilty” as they were.  I mean, who hasn’t wiggled their nose to get the dishes automatically finished?
Who hasn’t crossed their arms, nodded and blinked willing my outfit to change or the car to start?

bewitched

Who hasn’t yelled, “Abracadabra!” to a closed door willing it to open?

I had a lot to learn about judging others!

James4 11 12

I was wrong for condemning them.  Not only was I not God, and not only was I just as guilty as I judged them to be, but I was failing His mission oriented command.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.
1 Corinthians 13:4-8

 

Today in the age of hate of anything different, I believe God used this hard time to make me see the injustices given to people who may fall in people’s views of “despicable acts.” The problem is some Christians will read part of a verse and use it to maintain their views without reading the entire verse as well as its context.

If they read verses in their entirety, they would see that the verse convicts them as much as the person they are judging.  Jesus reminded me of this in the following verses.

Then Jesus told this story to some who had great confidence in their own righteousness and scorned everyone else: “Two men went to the Temple to pray. One was a Pharisee, and the other was a despised tax collector. The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed this prayer: ‘I thank you, God, that I am not a sinner like everyone else. For I don’t cheat, I don’t sin, and I don’t commit adultery. I’m certainly not like that tax collector! I fast twice a week, and I give you a tenth of my income.’
“But the tax collector stood at a distance and dared not even lift his eyes to heaven as he prayed. Instead, he beat his chest in sorrow, saying, ‘O God, be merciful to me, for I am a sinner.’ I tell you, this sinner, not the Pharisee, returned home justified before God. For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” Luke 18:9-14

 

A lot of people like to point out that in 1 Corinthians 6:9-10 God says that homosexuality is an abomination.  They do, however, also miss the fact that God also lists many other sins.  Read this!

“Or do you not know that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor homosexuals,  nor thieves, nor the covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers, shall inherit the kingdom of God.”

Do you tell a white lie?  Hate to have to tell you this, but that falls under swindling.  Do you cuss or swear? Revilers!  Do you use company money to buy something personal?  Thieves!  Can’t control your drinking?  Wish you had the neighbor’s pool?  Have more time on your iphone than God’s Word?  Honey, that is all contained in that verse!  Which of us is without sin to throw a stone?  None of us!

Romans 3:23 – For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God!

God asked us to hate the sinner, not the sin, but remember!  As you point one finger to another, four fingers are pointing back to YOU!

woman-975339_960_720.jpg

2 thoughts on “52 Weeks Of Gratitude … Lessons Learned

  1. I felt convicted of being too judgmental about 2 months ago. As a result, I called up a prayer warrior and asked her to hold me accountable for this sinful trait. She did just that. She’ll send texts or call me up and see how I am doing. I have also reached out to her on days when I walked away from judging, and on days when I fell into the pit. I found the resource of an accountability partner to be very helpful in this area.

    Like

Leave a Reply

