52 Weeks of Gratitude ….. My Greatest Accomplishment

52WeeksAccomplishments

My Greatest Accomplishments….My Children

 Infertility and secondary infertility were such a big issue with me in our marriage and so I celebrate the three lives of my children.  God has granted me the privilege of parenting these three beautiful children and I thank Him so much for them.

My oldest daughter is currently in her senior year in college.  She hopes to be a music therapist.  My son is soon finished with high school and plans to study computer engineering hoping to use it in the army.  My youngest plans to become an art therapist and you can often see her doodling and drawing in her sketch pad.

owl-47526_640

We had tried for a year and a half to get pregnant with my first before finally succeeding.  When we decided to try for a second and eighteen months had passed with no baby, I had became extremely depressed.  To compound the problem, my oldest had a few freak accidents in which I blamed myself.  I would have nightmares of things happening to her due to my negligence.  When we couldn’t get pregnant again, I told myself that it was probably because I did not deserve any more children and I was a bad mother.  When I finally gave it to God, I did become pregnant with my son.  After that we did not try to have more children nor did we prevent it.  Four years went by before I had my third and then, imagine my surprise when i immediately became pregnant with a fourth child.  Unfortunately I lost that child due to a tubal pregnancy.  It was decided after that to tie my tubes because of health issues.

4291413264_a73a24c387_nThe years are zipping by so fast.  Soon all of my children will have flew the nest.  That is something that is hard to both believe and face.  Empty nesting will most certainly not be fun.  When you are holding that tiny baby in your arms, you can’t even imagine this day and yet here it is.

Now before you ask, yes, my husband did play an important role in this, but as this 52 weeks of Gratitude is what I am grateful for, I am choosing to tell it from my point of view.

“Your children are the greatest gift God will give to you, and their souls the heaviest responsibility He will place in your hands. Take time with them, teach them to have faith in God. Be a person in whom they can have faith. When you are old, nothing else you’ve done will have mattered as much.”
― Lisa Wingate
2 thoughts on “52 Weeks of Gratitude ….. My Greatest Accomplishment

  1. You have beautiful children! It sounds like they have great dreams in helping others which is most definitely something you instilled in them. They are such blessings whether they are ‘planned’ or ‘surprises’. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

