Serenade The Son Sunday….. You Are My Hiding Place

4304788942_f52a92f3f2a

Recently one of my daughter’s friends came over.
As soon as my cat saw her, he went into hiding.
We searched the entire house and could not find him.
When the friend left, he reappeared
and the mystery of his hiding place was still a mystery.
Yesterday, my daughter happened to see him make use of his hiding place.
The rascal had somehow either found or made a hole
in the bottom of my box-spring and crawled inside.

Today’s praise song is from the verses Psalm 32:7.

You are my hiding place;
 you will protect me from trouble
 and surround me with songs of deliverance.

When I am afraid I will trust in You. Psalm 56:5

You are my hiding place
You always fill my heart
With songs of deliverance
Whenever I am afraid
I will trust in You

I will trust in You
Let the weak say
I am strong
In the strength of the Lord

You are my hiding place
You always fill my heart
With songs of deliverance
Whenever I am afraid
I will trust in You

I will trust in You
Let the weak say I am strong
In the strength of the Lord
I will trust in You.

We all need hiding places to go and renew ourselves through Christ, seek His advice or intercede in prayer.  Even Christ needed that time and space to devote to prayer.

“Because of the crowd he (Jesus) told his disciples to have a small boat ready for him, to keep the people from crowding him.  For he had healed many, so that those with diseases were pushing forward to touch him.”  (Mark 3:9,10 NIV)

24127884385_e6ac2cf7b9

     In the movie, The War Room, Elizabeth Jordan was challenged by her client-turned-mentor, Miss Clara, to create a space for intercession and prayer to fight for her failing marriage.

In Isaiah 26:20, God invites us, “Come, my people, enter your chambers, and shut your doors behind you; hide yourselves for a little while until the fury has passed by.”

In 2 Kings 4:33, God says, “So he went in and shut the door behind the two of them and prayed to the Lord.”

And, in Matthew 6:5-6, Jesus said, ““And when you pray, you must not be like the hypocrites. For they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and at the street corners, that they may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

Do you have a hiding place or a prayer closet?  If so, where is it?
Leave a Reply

