52 Weeks Of Gratitude… My Tears

3888834634_dba0790b9a (1)

What soap is for the body, tears are for the soul.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

     This week I am grateful for tears.  Growing up, tears were often given a negative rap.  In fact, I grew up believing I needed to hide my tears as well as my emotions.  Now I realize that not only is that unhealthy, but it is not using a gift God had given us.

The soul would have no rainbow had the eyes no tears.
~John Vance Cheney

 

Psychological studies have concluded that weeping stimulates our brain’s endorphin release enabling us to feel better.  Crying also releases stress on both the brain and the body.  I know from personal experience that after a bout of crying, I emerge from it feeling a lot less harried and can view my situation with renewed clarity.

eye-609987_640

     Crying often gets a bad rap.  Parents try to shush their children from crying by saying, “Be a big girl.”  And men often have a whole chauvinistic attitude about women, or even men, who cry.  The problem is admonishing someone not to cry is dangerous for their health.    Those who try to stuff their feelings inside will have the stress affecting various parts of their body.  Constant stress on the body can cause

  • insomnia
  • headaches
  • type 2 diabetes
  • heartburn or acid reflux
  • nausea, vomiting, or a stomachache
  • diarrhea or constipation
  • back and shoulder pain
  • body aches
  • loss of libido
  • menstrual cycle irregularities
  • impotence
  • compromised immune system
  • more susceptible to viruses and infections

Bottom line, burying emotions and feelings is hard on the rest of the body.

Tears are the safety valve of the heart when too much pressure is laid on it. ~Albert Smith

 

 

 

    The body, the final intricate creation of God, creates three types of tears:  basal, reflex and psychic tears.  Basal tears keep your eyes nourished and lubricated.  Reflex tears washes any irritations to your eyes like dirt or vapors from onions.  The psychic tears are also known as the crying tears and they contain a natural painkiller, called leucine enkephalin which is probably why you feel better after a good cry.

     Many times all I want to do during my day is to go someplace and have a good cry.  That is my body telling me it needs a release of some type of stress.  It does not happen often and is usually as a result of either a tense situation or during a lack of sufficient sleep.

2676691317_54efacf6ae

Discouraging tears can be harmful to the recipient.  This does not apply to crocodile tears that my youngest is often able to magically produce.  This is a feeling of sadness or frustration that may accompany a child or adult throughout their day.

I thank God for creating tears.  It is the natural therapy that aids in keeping the body working well.

e1e06390f5e45625808ef4e4909815a9 (1)

2 thoughts on “52 Weeks Of Gratitude… My Tears

  1. Hi, Denise. I have to agree, crying does release stress. I’ve been known to shed a few tears and feel so much better afterwards. Thank you for this reminder and for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

