8 Ways To Help Your Spouse Through Depression

16832456926_1246b01943With my depression, my husband often said, “I feel so helpless.” So how can spouses help those who are suffering from depression?

4358705144_bcd162a789_n

 

Go for a walk together….holding hands!

The fresh air will do her good and you don’t even have to have much talk.  The time you spend will mean the world to her.

.

.

.

.

 

BWCouplePrayingaaPray with her – for her!

 

She will be touched that you care enough to pray for her.

.

.

8977448894_316e8980fc_n

A No-strings-attached hug or a soft touch on her arm or shoulder as you pass by her.

.

Embracing her without any expectations will show you care.

S.

 

8550838313_988bb45500

That goes the same for holding her in bed.

.

This gives her a feeling of security.

.

.

.

Encourage her to journal.

Buy her a journal and pretty colored gel pens, or, if she has trouble writing due to illness, a small laptop may be in order.

17100954747_93721d1776_nEncourage her to take some time for herself

doing something she enjoys or just getting outside.

Sunlight plays an important part in someone’s mood but sometimes pampering at a masseuse or spa may also be appreciated.

.

2288066963_bdc2758be1_baabbccdd

Do something fun together.

 

Be playful!

Go bowling or go-kart racing.

Have a water-balloon battle or a snowball fight.

.

.

.

.

4980261336_2e84d7924c_n Write her a love letter telling her how much she means to you.

Keep it g-rated so she does not need to suspect ulterior motives.

.

.

.

How about you?  What would make you feel special?

5 thoughts on “8 Ways To Help Your Spouse Through Depression

  1. These suggestions are so sweet! My husband always does little things like this when I’m feeling blue or my anxiety is a bit overwhelming. He knows how to make me feel better.

    Thank you for sharing at Chronic Friday Linkup! #ChronicFridayLinkup

    Like

  2. These are great ideas to help deal with depression. I’m a sucker for pretty pens and paper. I turn to blogging and reading, both help me escape the reality of my pain and blogging helps me refocus on the small victories in my life. I started the blog to help me combat depression and it’s become an obsession. Stopping by from #ChronicIllnessLinkup.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Chronic Friday Linkup 10 - Being Fibro Mom

Leave a Reply

