52 Weeks Of Gratitude……It’s The Simple Things

DOWHAT     I don’t know if it a Pennsylvania Dutch thing or what but my parents have instilled in me the desire to “make do with what we have”…..

.

.

.

.

.

WringerWasher     We ran cars till they started costing too much to fix.  My dad has the same rototiller he had when I was a baby.  They still have a push mower and most appliances they had when I was a kid they are only now starting to replace because they are breaking down.  My mom used her wringer washer for years before getting an automatic one.  In fact, it came in handy the years we had a drought.

     Being content can also save you from credit card debt because you aren’t so quick to go out and buy something just because you want it or it would be nice to have.

     And a lot of times it is not the gift that I am grateful for, but the thought put into it.

     Being content with the simple things have also inspired creativity in me.  I am quicker to create my own crafts, graphics or things around the house to serve my purpose is I know I cannot afford it.  The screws don’t always match…. much to my husband’s chagrin. Duct tape, bungee cords and zip ties have become my friends.  My daughter once won a prize at our local fair with a purse made entirely of soda tabs.

“Be content with what you have;
rejoice in the way things are.
When you realize there is nothing lacking,
the whole world belongs to you.”
― Lao Tzu

Leave a Reply

