Hymns For Him Down Memory Lane

images (3)     My mom’s family loved to sing together.  Some of my best memories were of all of us around the organ that my grandmother played.  We sang a lot of Southern Gospel and a lot of Christmas Carols as well.  Who could help but love music growing up in our family?  My grandfather was still singing even as his body was failing him.  I am sure he and my grandma are having a good old time in heaven singing for Him.  

images (2)     Often times my sisters and I would go down over the holidays and help my grandmother clean for the upcoming family gathering.  One time she gathered us around her organ and taught us the song, “Only To Be What He Wants Me To Be.”  We blended so well together and I believe she had us sing it for the family.  I could have sworn there was more than one verse to it but I have been unable to track that down but here are the words I did find.

Only to be what He wants me to be
Every moment of every day
Yielded completely to Jesus alone
Every step of this pilgrim’s way
Just to be clay in the Potter’s hands
Ready to do what His word commands
Only to be what He wants me to be
Every moment of every day

Norman J Clayton

If anyone has access to another verse to this song, I would be extremely grateful!

Leave a Reply

