How I Memorized Psalm 100 Without Even Knowing It

16894221417_4f83068c25Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands. Serve the Lord with gladness: come before his presence with singing. Know ye that the Lord he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.  Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his nameFor the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.

3675988857_b6bfa8f026      Way back in the seventies, I was a child. (although my son claims I was a child of the Jurassic Period)  Back then, my mother played a lot of records.  Now for those too young to know what a record is, I will just say it was a larger prerequisite of the C.D.  Now, if you aren’t even old enough to know what a CD is, I have one word for you: GOOGLE!  Anyway, returning to the subject at hand, my mother played a lot of records.  Anything from gospel to Nursery Rhyme Songs.  I even remember a record with “The Good, The Bad and The Ugly” on it, but that’s another flight for my rather easily distracted mind to take another day.

R-5655229-1399079571-2209.jpeg     One of the records my mother would play was a gospel one for kids was Bill Gaither Trio Especially For Kids. The record starts out with kids charismatically shouting out Praises to God and, being musically inclined that I am, I would memorize what they were saying along with all the music they would sing.  The Gaithers made learning gospel music exciting and you could tell they have a heart for kids.  And from their original group was several spin-offs.  My mother had taken me to see one of their Homecoming Concerts a few years ago and all the greats were there.  It was a very enjoyable!

     Unbeknownst to me until many years later, those praises the kids were shouting out was the chapter of Psalms 100.  Who da’ thunk it? Memorizing something was never a forte of my highly distractable mind but put it to music and it clicked.  I wish I had known that then because it could have made memorization much easier when it came. not only to other Bible passages but to other things totally unrelated to that.  Music can help in so many ways.  In fact, my friend. Lisa, came in to school one day and handed the teacher a cassette she had taped of the Potsie from Happy Days singing “Pump Your Blood” to help us learn the Circulatory System.  

     Kids learn in so many different ways and sometimes you have to get a little creative when you want a concept learned.

7 thoughts on “How I Memorized Psalm 100 Without Even Knowing It

  1. My parents used to play records also, I years later I realized much of what they sang were verses from the bible! A personal favorite of mine was Micky and Becky! 🙂 I had the chance to meet them when I was super smaill, and it stuck with me all this time!
    Cathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

