Why I Am Not Ready To Be An Empty Nester

Nest Field Snow 12-001     One of the things I am not looking forward to is the empty nest thing.  In fact I am dreading it.   As it is, I hate it when we have to take my oldest daughter back to school, but now we are preparing for my youngest to go with her for two weeks.     

     Where does the time go?  Seriously, where does it?  It doesn’t seem that long ago I was having a conversation with my oldest where she felt a boy in her kindergarten class would make a suitable husband based on the fact that his name started with the same letter that hers did.  This same child is now in her senior year at an undergraduate school and my son is preparing to spread his own wings and fly.  And I hate it.

     I think the thing that scares me is that they won’t come back.  While I am an introvert, I do miss them.  They bring me great joy….. but I know they need to fly.  I know they need to unfold their wings that have been growing so steadily over the years and give them a chance to spread and fly.  The old cliche’ : If you love it, you got to set it free is a hard pill to swallow and my prayer is that, when the time comes, God gives me the strength to let go.ElizEdwardsQuote

Leave a Reply

