52 Weeks Of Gratitude . . . Jane

LucyEthel     I once was at a counselor and she asked about my friends.  I told her mostly the ones I work with and she told me that couldn’t be my answer and I thought, “Why not?”  She does not know my friends I work with.  They are like another family.  Sure, there may be arguments and everyone has their own annoying quirks, including, no, especially me!  They go out of their way to stay close unlike other places I have worked.   So when presented with choosing today’s subject, a friend, I thought, “I can only pick one?!  In truth, there are several both at work and outside of work to choose from, but today’s task is to choose one friend, so I chose Jane.

MeJane - Copy     The first time I worked at the school, they had me scrape plates as the kids were bringing them in.  I told the girls I felt like Lucy in the chocolate factory.  Truth be told, working with Jane was like Lucy and Ethel. We were the crazy dish ladies.  She was so much fun to work with.  She helped to make working fun.  From dancing to Mele Kalikimaka to singing the craziest songs and just generally acting goofy.    The others would often look at us and shake their heads, but they would be smiling as they walked away.  Sometimes you need a little crazy to relieve stress and we had that covered!

MeJanePNGGWTW     Jane is a connoisseur of older music, television shows and movies.  I am in awe of how much she knows.  She can pass any test with flying colors when it came to music, movie and television trivia.   Her absolute favorite movie?  Gone With The Wind!  She also loves Green Acres and Petticoat Junction.   She could often be heard quoting lines from movies, shows and songs.  If we wanted to know anything about any of those subjects, she was the one to ask!

     Jane also adores her grandchildren but I will not include a photo of them to protect their privacy.

     You may wonder why I keep switching tenses throughout this.  That is because Jane had to take early retirement this past June due to health issues but I will miss her so much at work.  It is not going to be the same without her!

One thought on “52 Weeks Of Gratitude . . . Jane

  1. Pingback: 52 Weeks Of Gratitude…… Today I thank….. |

Leave a Reply

