ONE OF MY MOST CHERISHED POSSESSIONS

2240203     On a cold winters day in 1989, recently engaged, I was celebrating my birthday.  My one grandmother dropped a gift off at my house.  When I first opened it, I didn’t think a whole lot about it.  It was a beautiful porcelain Heritage house music box.  I just figured it was something she had ordered through the mail as she often did.  It was very pretty and played “Some Enchanted Evening.”  It turned out to be the last thing she ever gave me.   

     Six months later she had a massive heart attack and died instantly.   We weren’t close, but she wasn’t really close to any of her grandchildren…. Probably because there was too many of us – 21 of us, to be exact.  She wasn’t affectionate with any of us, but tried to treat us all equally.  Grandma was hardworking and she could never say no to anyone, always doing something for someone.  People seemed to take advantage of that but she never seemed to mind.  It brought her joy to do for others.
Grandma also loved to talk.  Most of our visits were listening to her talk, but no one seemed to mind.  The only time she stopped was to answer the phone and then she would chat for awhile to one of her friends.  I remember one time she was talking about someone else and she said, “And they talked so much, I couldn’t get a word in edgewise!”  It was all we could do to keep from busting out laughing.
My biggest regret was that she died before she got to see my wedding.  I guess I had always thought she would be there, but I was happy that she was finally someplace where she could get some rest and hopefully maybe someone was waiting on her for a change.

Leave a Reply

