PRAISE YOU IN THIS STORM

     In the early morning of Saturday, October 30, 2004. Laurie Edwards watched her daughter, ten-year-old Erin, lay in a hospice bed in her home fighting for air. Erin only had one request, “Just read the Scriptures!” From 1:00 a.m. till 5:00 a.m., her family took turns reading God’s Word over a child who had fought cancer for more than three years.  Though fear threatened to overtake Laurie, she steadfastly trusted her Father along with praying for a miracle.

1662369076_0bbc1e3e83      And now the end was near. Laurie tried to refuse to believe it, but her trust in the Lord remained steadfast. She was frightened and faithful all at once. She prayed for an eleventh-hour miracle. And she kept reading the Scriptures, as Erin had asked. Erin Browning went home at 4:24 a.m. on November 1, 2004.
Casting Crown’s Mark Hall was touched upon hearing about Erin’s last moments being covered in the Word. He had been receiving email updates throughout Laurie and Erin’s journey detailing the ups and downs as well as Laurie’s questions of “Why?” and her continuing faith through it.
When Mark e-mailed Laurie in June 2004 to tell her that he was writing “Praise You in This Storm” for her daughter, Erin was ecstatic. Unfortunately Erin never got to hear the song, but when Laurie’s mother bought the CD and played it for Erin, both women wept.
Laurie remembers only an overwhelming peace as she held Erin’s body for ninety minutes knowing her daughter was with Jesus. “It was not like how I expected her last minutes to be. I thought I’d be hysterical, but I wasn’t,” Laurie said. Erin had told her when she was six years old that she couldn’t wait to get to heaven. Mark was captured, not just by Laurie’s faith, but also by her worship…. the worship of Job:The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the LordJob 1:21The first line that came to Mark while thinking about Erin’s battle with cancer was the first verse:

I was sure by now, God, You would have reached down,
And wiped our tears away, stepped in and saved the day.
But once again, I say “Amen,” and it’s still raining.

The bridge also in reference to Laurie’s update about reading Scripture verses over Erin.  He added Psalm 121:1-2 as the bridge to try to capture the cry of a desperate mother:

I lift my eyes unto the hills; where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

This song has touched millions all over the globe, not just those struggling with terminal illness but those experiencing devastating trauma.  In fact, the album was released the day after Katrina devastated New Orleans and much of the Gulf Coast. I had heard this song play when several friends lost their children to cancer but it was one of many songs which took on special significance when I was diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer in 2008.
I am sorry I have been absent these past few weeks.  I have been battling both sinusitis and bronchitis.  It has been a long three weeks……

This story was retold from the book, Lifestories by Mark Hall, Casting Crowns frontman and chief songwriter.


Praise You In This Storm

I was sure by now
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still rainingAs the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away[Chorus:]
And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when
I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to you
And you raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on
If I can’t find YouBut as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away[Chorus]

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth

[Chorus x2]

5 thoughts on “PRAISE YOU IN THIS STORM

  1. I Love this song, but I had never read the story behind it. It was my battle cry in 2008 when I was faced with losing my dad to mesothelioma. I blogged about that experience, in which, to me, was deemed “hell week,” as you could only imagine what I was going through. The title of the post is “God’s Not Dead.” you can find it here: http://walkinginmydestiny.com/gods-not-dead/

    Thank you for sharing this. I shared it on my Facebook. I had followed you on bloglovin, and saw this right before I went to bed, so this was my first read this morning after my morning devotion.

    God Bless!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 52 Weeks Of Gratitude…..Music I Love | A Tattoo On His Palm

Leave a Reply

