College Finals Surprise Box

present-307984_640

     A month before fall and spring finals, my daughter’s college sends home a pamphlet with options to buy snack boxes for finals week.  They have a variety of options including some with all junk food and some with all fruit.  The only drawback was that my daughter did not care for half of the snacks they offered.

That was when I decided to get creative.

.
.
.
.
.

shopping-1073449_640

     I took a list of foods my daughter actually liked and hit the stores running starting with the produce section.  With fruit I would try to get a few various kinds of apples and other fruits  The fruits I did not actually put into the box due to the fact they would rot.  When it came to snacks, I found that buying them at grocery stores was not always feasible.  I only wanted a small amount of each thing.  Sometimes I could buy a box of something like granola bars, put two into the box and keep the rest.  I did discover that I could often find the snacks in the individual sizes I wanted quicker at a dollar store or a convenience store.  For beverages I bought drinks such as mineral water, Gatorade and the small soda pop cans.
girl-755857_640 (1)     I also bought silly stuff just meant to blow off steam.  Some of those items were small coloring books, bubbles, silly putty, play dough, punch balls, rubber band bracelet kits, silly books….. whatever you might find at a Dollar Store.
Then you put the stuff in a big box.  The one time I kept having to get bigger boxes because I kept buying more stuff.  I made sure this time to put a limit on it.  Once I printed off a bunch of Texts From Mittens and used that as wrapping paper but you can also use brightly colored paper from the Dollar Store.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I asked my daughter if she would rather I bought the College Finals Box and she replied, “No, I like yours better because they are more personal.”

Leave a Reply

