“It’s All in Your Head!”

man-219928_960_720abbbb
 Around 2006-2007 I started to notice digestive issues.  When I would complain to my family doctor, he usually brushed it under the rug or even suggested I use fiber pills.  It did not get better – only worse but he would never check it out.  When I noticed that it was worse during PMS and mentioned it to him, he pretty much told me it was all in my head. Not once in all those years did he order any tests or even physically check me out.
.

Image4a   Then, in late spring to summer of 2008, I started having a lot of issues with numbness, pain and tingling down my legs.  The nurse practitioner I saw that time gave me exercises to strengthen my back and sent me on my merry way.  Not only did that not help but in September I got extremely sick during PMS.  Once again I made an appointment with a doctor.  I knew something was going on, but was unsure what that was.  This time I got the female doctor in the practice.  At first she thought maybe diverticulitis but she actually took the time to examine me.  She felt something did not seem right so she sent me for blood-work and an ultrasound.  That was when they found the cancer.
     My whole experience prompted me not to only be an advocate for Ovarian Cancer Awareness but to also be an advocate for one’s self.  No one knows your body better than you and if something does not seem right, keep seeking help until you are proven otherwise.  The physician may have a PHD but they cannot feel what you are feeling.  Don’t allow them to make you feel stupid.  They are not God.  They are just people with a piece of paper who can make mistakes.  Keep pushing and maybe you will both learn something new.  Now I question everything.  I don’t just take their word for it.  I push for answers.  The life you save could be your own or even your children’s life!
Leave a Reply

