CONTEMPLATIONS

6124425_orig   This year has been a series of age markers for my kids as the oldest turned twenty-one, the next turned sixteen and the youngest turned twelve.  Time seems to be passing so quickly I don’t know whether I am coming or going.

.

.

.

.


Last Wednesday the father of sisters and one brother, I grew up with collapsed from a major stroke.  Now they find themselves facing the decision about life support.  It is so surreal sitting there thinking about it.  I never thought about reaching the age where I am planning for my parent’s funeral.  I am sure these girls(and guy) never had either.  In fact, up until last week, it never occurred to them.  When did we get that “old”?  I cannot wrap my head around the fact that I will be fifty in a couple of years.  Where did the time go?  In some ways I do not feel fifty.  I feel twenty.  In other ways, with what chemo had done to my body, I feel eighty.  Yet time keeps moving on…….
Carole, Keith, Chris, Karen, Audrey and Andrea, you are all in my prayers! Hugs!

We Have This Moment
Words and Music by Bill and Gloria Gaither

Hold tight to the sound of the music of living,
Happy songs from the laughter of children at play;
Hold my hand as we run through the sweet fragrant meadows,
Making mem’ries of what was today.

Chorus:
We have this moment to hold in our hands
and to touch as it slips through our fingers like sand;
Yesterday’s gone and tomorrow may never come,
But we have this moment today.

Tiny voice that I hear is my little girl calling,
For Daddy to hear just what she has to say;
And my little son running there by the hillside,
May never be quite like today.


Tender words, gentle touch and a good cup of coffee,
And someone who loves me and wants me to stay;
Hold them near while they’re here and don’t wait for tomorrow,
To look back and wish for today.

Take the blue of the sky and the green of the forest,
And the gold and the brown of the freshly mown hay;
Add the pale shades of spring and the circus of autumn,
And weave you a lovely today.

Leave a Reply

